You are here

Board of Trustees

Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth Board of Trustees

The Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth’s Board of Trustees governs the Foundation. Its 23 members are appointed by Virginia’s Governor and the General Assembly. The board has a committee structure and meets three times a year to decide Foundation business and set the Foundation’s direction for important initiatives.

Board Officers & Members

Chair Representative of Term Expiration
Karin Addison

Troutman Sanders Strategies
Director State Affairs

June 30, 2022


Vice Chairman Representative of Term Expiration
The Honorable John H. O'Bannon III, M.D.

Neurological Associates

Virginia House of Delegates
Former member

June 30, 2022


Members Representative of Term Expiration

Gina A. Bellamy, MSA, BSN, RN, NCSN

Prince William County Public Schools
School Health Services Coordinator

Virginia Association of School Nurses

June 30, 2022

Madelyn Cahill

Youth Member June 30, 2021

W. Curtis Coleburn


June 30, 2022
Katie Crumble, LPC

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Designee for Chairman

The Honorable T. Scott Garrett, M.D.

State Delegate
Representing the 23rd District

Concurrent with House Term
Andrew Goodwin
Takoma Park, Maryland

Morgan Stanley
Financial Adviser

June 30, 2023
Joseph Hilbert

Virginia Department of Health
Designee for Commissioner of Health

Sarah Bedard Holland

Virginia Oral Health Coalition
Executive Director

June 30, 2022
Patrick J. "Pat" Hughes Jr.

Patrick Hughes Ltd.

June 30, 2023
Patte G. Koval

The Monument Group

June 30, 2022
Robert Leek

American Lung Association in Virginia

Sentara Healthcare
Senior Physician Liaison

June 30, 2023
The Honorable David W. Marsden

State Senator
Representing the 37th District

Concurrent with Senate term
John J. McGuire, III

State Delegate
Representing the 56th District

Concurrent with House term
Andre Muelenaer, Jr., M.D.

Carilion Children's Hospital
Pediatric Pulmonologist

June 30, 2023
Keith Newby, Sr., M.D.

Fort Norfolk Plaza Medical Associates
Cardiologist, President and CEO

June 30, 2022
Jerrin Norton

Youth member

June 30, 2023
Ghulam Qureshi, M.D.
Virginia Cancer Institute

June 30,2021
Vineeta Shah, R.D.

Registered Dietitian and Community Volunteer

June 30, 2022
The Honorable David R. Suetterlein State Senator
Representing the 19th District
Concurrent with Senate term

Lekeisha Terrell, M.D.

Unity Health Care
Pediatrician and Adolescent Medicine Specialist

June 30, 2022

Teresa Gardner Tyson, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC, FAANP
Wise County

The Health Wagon
Executive Director

June 30, 2023


Appointment to the Board

As outlined in the enabling legislation, the Virginia Tobacco Settlement Foundation Board membership consists of twenty-three members appointed as follows:

  • Two state delegates, one representing rural interests and one urban, are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates.
  • Two state senators, one representing rural interests and one urban, are appointed by the Senate Privileges and Elections Committee.

The Governor appoints the remaining nineteen members, consisting of:

  • Five designated representatives of public health organizations, such as the American Cancer Society, American Heart Association, American Lung Association of Virginia, Medical Society of Virginia, and the Virginia Thoracic Society
  • Four health professionals in the fields of oncology, cardiology, pulmonary medicine, and pediatrics
  • Eight citizens, including two youth
  • Commissioner of the Department of Health or his designee
  • Chairman of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board or his designee.

Terms are four years each with the possibility of two consecutive terms. Initial appointments are staggered.

Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: More information about gubernatorial appointments